Derbalicious: Talk Derby to Me, Ridin Derby and Other Derby Related Things

Attending the Kentucky Derby has been on my bucket list for ages. Pastels, big hats, day drinking… what more could I have possibly asked for?!

Image
(If you say you don’t want to wear a big hat you need to stop lying to yourself)

 

The plan was to stay in Indianapolis Friday night and take a bus to Louisville early Saturday morning with 45 other people. We’d Derby it up in Louisville then head back to Indy and stay in a cheap hotel there Saturday night. Midnight Steak n Shake run was optional (but totally happened).

Image
(Our Derbalicious Group)

 

The Derby Adventure was quite an experience. Here’s the breakdown of what I learned (please note that the below is a reflection of my 12 drunken hours at the Derby and could be slightly off):

1. Wendy’s is not nearly as good as Chik Fil A – For anyone who plans on driving from Chicago to Indianapolis here is my advice to you: ignore the signs for food, they’re lying to you. There are two exits that have Chik-Fil-A. Make sure you map this out ahead of time of you will be sorely disappointed and rather hangry by the time you get to Indy.

2. The seats by the bathroom stink as much as you anticipate (pun intended)Get on the bus early and and seat check some seats in the middle of the bus. Back of the bus is not the highlight of the trip.

ImageImage
(I think this is the only picture of me without a cup in my hand)

3. Day drinking is the best type of drinking – I feel like this goes without saying, but, the best part of the $50 General Admission Derby ticket is the tailgate-like atmosphere. Think: day drinking+nice clothes+people throwing around money+gambling+more alcohol. Basically, it’s great and I definitely recommend that you try out the infield experience. With that being said, drinks at the derby are not exactly cheap. I highly recommend checking out this video on how to sneak alcohol into places. It probably is a good idea to bring in water as well, this was our mistake.

ImageImage

4. Infield naps are the best naps. Until you realize you forgot to put sunscreen on.  Sunscreen is your friend. This is the Derby people, not Nascar. Also, cups/bottles/cans don’t make the best pillows.

Image

 

5. Betting is hard. If I were wise I would tell you to do your research. Since I’m not, I’m going to say ask how the most experienced person in your group is betting and follow suit. Also, don’t expect to win. It’s all about the experience. (I totally lost my bets, so I’m not the best person to get advice from here.) (PS: props to California Chrome)

ImageImageImage

6. HATS. Hats are the best. The whole “it’s the inside that counts” philosophy doesn’t apply to the Derby. You gotsta look good, doe. Pastels on deck.

7. Celebrities – There will be celebrities at the Derby. You probably won’t see them. Sorry in advance for the heart break.

8. Mint Juleps – Drink them, you get a commemorative glass to keep when you buy one. Get at least one and use the glass for the alcohol you sneakily snuck into the Derby. HIGH FIVE TO YOU. (The cups are actually kind of cool. You should totes take that home with you.)

 

That’s basically it. The Derby was a fantastic experience, and I def recommend going sometime if you have the chance. Also, it’s fun to sing songs and replace the word “dirty” with “Derby”. Anyone else have Derby experiences they’d like to share?

#talkderbytome #ridinderby #keepcalmandderbyon


Leave a comment